rss
0

Queensland Gets New Codes of Practice

QLD GovtIn Queensland a number of new codes of practice took effect from 1st December 2013. A code of practice provides details on how to achieve the standards required under the work health and safety (WHS) legislation, by identifying hazards and managing risks.

Under the Work Health and Safety Act 2011, codes of practice are admissible in court proceedings. Courts may regard a code of practice as evidence of what is known about a hazard, risk or control, and rely on it to determine what is reasonably practicable in the circumstances. A person cannot be prosecuted for failing to comply with a code of practice.

According to the legislation a person with duties under the WHS Act can comply with their duties by following another method, such as a technical or industry standard, if it provides a standard of work health and safety equivalent to, or higher than, the code of practice.

An inspector can refer to an approved code of practice when issuing an improvement or prohibition notice and can offer the person to whom the notice is issued a choice of ways in which to remedy the contravention.

The following is a list of the new codes to take effect from 1st of December Queensland and links to the relevant code documentation:

• Abrasive Blasting – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/abrasive-blasting-cop-2013.pdf

• Demolition Work – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/demolition-work-cop-2013.pdf

• Excavation Work – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/excavation-work-cop-2013.pdf

• Managing Risks of Hazardous Chemicals in the Workplace – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/managing-risks-hazardous-chemicals-cop-2013.pdf

• Managing the Risks of Plant in the Workplace – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/managing-risks-plant-cop-2013.pdf

• Safe Design of Structures – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/safe-design-structures-cop-2013.pdf

• Spray Painting and Powder Coating – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/spray-painting-powder-coating-cop-2013.pdf

• Welding Processes – http://www.deir.qld.gov.au/workplace/resources/pdfs/welding-processes-cop-2013.pdf

Below are the former Codes and Advisory Standards that were revoked and no longer have any force or effect:

• Abrasive Blasting Industry Code of Practice 2004;
• Hazardous Chemicals Advisory Standard 2003;
• Plant Code of Practice 2005; and
• Tunnelling Code of Practice 2007.

About the Author

Safety Concepts is an online resource providing up to date insights and covering issues in the field of Workplace Safety.

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.

*

Wordpress SEO Plugin by SEOPressor